White House declares state of emergency in Georgia ahead of Dorian

President Trump declared Georgia a state of emergency on Sunday as Hurricane Dorian heads towards the U.S., the White House announced Monday morning.  

The White House approved Georgia's emergency declaration, joining three others stages already declared states of emergencies as the Category 5 hurricane approaches. 

Florida, North Carolina and South Carolina are also in a state of emergency. 


Georgia Gov. Brian Kemp (R) said residents have been ordered to evacuate by noon in Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Glynn, Liberty and McIntosh Counties.

The National Hurricane Center on Sunday evening said the strong winds are expected to affect the Carolinas and Georgia early this week. 

An 8-year-old boy in the Bahamas has been reported as the first death from Hurricane Dorian. 

His death was reported by local outlets, but not confirmed by Bahamian authorities.