Cummings pallbearer skips McConnell handshake at memorial

A pallbearer at Rep. Elijah CummingsElijah Eugene CummingsDemocrats plot next move after GOP sinks Jan. 6 probe Lawmakers press AbbVie CEO on increased US prices of two drugs Overnight Health Care: AstraZeneca may have included outdated data on vaccine trial, officials say | Pelosi says drug pricing measure under discussion for infrastructure package | Biden administration extends special ObamaCare enrollment until August MORE's (D-Md.) memorial on Thursday shook hands with all top congressional leaders except Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnellAddison (Mitch) Mitchell McConnellSenate GOP blocks voting rights bill Schumer, McConnell spar as GOP prepares to block voting bill Trump has 'zero desire' to be Speaker, spokesman says MORE (R-Ky.). 


Video captured the pallbearer, who has been identified in reports as Bobby Rankin, skipping McConnell while greeting a line of other senior lawmakers that included both Republicans and Democrats. 

Cummings was a fierce opponent at times of President TrumpDonald TrumpGuardian Angels founder Curtis Sliwa wins GOP primary in NYC mayor's race Garland dismisses broad review of politicization of DOJ under Trump Schumer vows next steps after 'ridiculous,' 'awful' GOP election bill filibuster MORE and Republican policies, but it is not clear what prompted the moment. Rankin has not spoken about it.

Cummings, who died on Oct. 17, was the first African American to lie in state in the U.S. Capitol's Statuary Hall on Thursday. McConnell spoke at the Thursday ceremony honoring Cummings.

"By day, the congressman was here in the Capitol working and leading in these hallways of power," McConnell said. "But every night, he rode the train back home and walked the neighborhoods, bullhorn in hand, encouraging unity and peace."

Cummings's funeral is Friday in Baltimore. Former Presidents Obama and Clinton are both slated to speak at the funeral for the former House Oversight and Reform Committee chairman.