Florida lawmakers introduce bill to end daylight saving clock change

Stefani Reynolds

Three Florida lawmakers introduced legislation that would end the November clock change from daylight saving time. 

The legislation introduced by Sens. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) and Rick Scott (R-Fla.) and Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-Fla.) would permanently keep the country in daylight saving time, the clock change made in March that is observed for eight months of the year. 

Americans will set their clocks forward on Sunday, entering daylight saving time. Most states observe daylight saving time for eight months each year. 

Rubio introduced a similar bill last year. 

The new bill, called the Sunshine Protection Act of 2019, also follows similar legislation enacted in the state of Florida.

Scott signed that bill when he was the state’s governor. The Florida legislation cannot go into effect until Washington passes a measure allowing it, according to The Associated Press

Rubio and Buchanan also introduced bills to allow Florida’s law to go into effect last year, but according to a Library of Congress database, the bills were not passed

“I was glad to sign legislation as Governor to continue Daylight Saving Time year-round for Floridians, and now join Senator Rubio to lead this effort in Congress,” Scott said in a news release. “The Sunshine Protection Act will allow Floridians and visitors to enjoy our beautiful state even later in the day, and will benefit Florida’s tourism industry, which just celebrated another record year,” he added. 

“Reflecting the will of the State of Florida, I’m proud to reintroduce this bill to also make Daylight Saving Time permanent nationally,” Rubio said.

Tags Daylight saving time Florida Marco Rubio Marco Rubio Rick Scott Vern Buchanan Vern Buchanan
See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video