Smith wins reelection in Minnesota

Smith wins reelection in Minnesota
© Bonnie Cash

Sen. Tina SmithTina Flint SmithSenate Democrats push Biden over raising refugee cap Sharpton eulogizes Daunte Wright: 'Tags of racism' have expired Hawley votes against anti-Asian hate crime bill MORE (D-Minn.) on Tuesday was projected to win reelection in the race against former Rep. Jason LewisJason LewisRep. Angie Craig defends Minnesota House seat in race clouded by legal confusion Smith wins reelection in Minnesota Klobuchar 'feeling good' about Democrats taking control of Senate MORE (R-Minn.).

The Associated Press called the race at 1:16 a.m. EST. 

Smith's win comes after she maintained a comfortable lead over Lewis throughout the past couple of months, with last week's RealClearPolitics polling average placing Smith nearly 6 percentage points ahead of Lewis among voters.


Some polling, however, showed a much tighter race, with an Oct. 22 KSTP/SurveyUSA poll reporting that Smith and Lewis were statistically tied at 43 percent to 42 percent.

The incumbent senator won the Democratic primary in August with more than 86 percent of the vote over four other Democratic opponents.

Smith assumed office in a 2018 special election to fill the remainder of former Sen. Al FrankenAlan (Al) Stuart FrankenMaher chides Democrats: We 'suck the fun out of everything' Why Caitlyn Jenner should not be dismissed #MeWho? The hypocritical silence of Kamala Harris MORE's (D-Minn.) term after he resigned over sexual harassment allegations.