Warren, Daines introduce bill honoring 13 killed in Kabul attack

Bonnie Cash

Sens. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) and Steve Daines (R-Mont.) introduced a bill on Wednesday to posthumously award congressional medals to the 13 service members killed in the bombing at the Kabul airport in August.

According to the proposed resolution, a gold medal will be presented in honor of Staff Sgt. Darin Hoover, 31; Cpl. Hunter Lopez, 22; Cpl. Daegan Page, 23; Cpl. Humberto Sanchez, 22; Lance Cpl. Jared Schmitz, 20; Lance Cpl. David Espinoza, 20; Lance Cpl. Rylee McCollum, 20; Lance Cpl. Dylan Merola, 20; Lance Cpl. Kareem Nikoui, 20; Sgt. Nicole Gee, 23; Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, 25; Navy Hospitalman Maxton Soviak, 22; and Army Staff Sgt. Ryan Knauss, 23.

The medals would then be given to the Smithsonian Institution for display and research.

“Thirteen brave men and women gave the last full measure to protect Americans & our Afghan allies at a critical moment in our nation’s history—they are American heroes. As the U.S. concludes 20-years of combat in Afghanistan, I believe it’s fitting that Congress commemorates their sacrifice in this moment with the Congressional Gold Medal,” Daines said in a statement.

“These individuals demonstrated incredible courage throughout their careers, and we owe it to them to pass legislation to recognize their heroic service with the Congressional Gold Medal,” said Warren.

Earlier in September, Daines had indicated his intention to introduce a bill awarding congressional medals to the service members killed in the Afghanistan withdrawal.

The bill was co-sponsored by more than 30 other U.S. senators, including Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.) and Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.).

Tags Afghanistan withdrawal Bernie Sanders Dianne Feinstein Elizabeth Warren Elizabeth Warren Gold Medal Marsha Blackburn Mitt Romney Steve Daines Steve Daines Tammy Baldwin Tim Kaine

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video