Texas and six other states sue to end DACA

Texas and six other states sue to end DACA
© Getty

Seven states filed a lawsuit against the Trump administration on Tuesday in an attempt to end the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program, claiming that former President Obama's creation of the program was unlawful.

CNN reported that Texas is leading the lawsuit, which comes as the Trump administration attempts to end the program. However, several federal judges have already blocked officials from ending DACA.

Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Nebraska, South Carolina and West Virginia are also backing the legal challenge.


The lawsuit alleges that Obama violated both federal law and the Constitution in creating the protections for young immigrants brought to the U.S. illegally as children, according to CNN.

Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton (R) and attorneys general from nine other states had threatened to take legal action last year if the Trump administration didn’t end DACA.

CNN noted that the legal challenge means that the Justice Department will have to decide if it will defend the program in court as the administration attempts to shutter the Obama-era program.

Trump announced last year that he would be rescinding the program, giving lawmakers a six-month window to pass a legislative solution.

However, efforts on immigration legislation have stalled in Congress. And a federal judge ruled last week that the Trump administration had to continue accepting applications for DACA, rejecting Trump's reasoning for ending the program.