Oregon Senate passes bill to make daylight saving time permanent

The Oregon Senate has passed a bill that would abolish annual time changes and make daylight saving time permanent for the state. 

The legislation, Senate Bill 320, passed on Thursday with bipartisan support in a 23-4 vote.


The bill now heads to the state House for consideration. If passed, the bill will be sent to the desk of Gov. Kate Brown (D), who has already signaled her support for the legislation.

State Sen. Kim Thatcher (R), one of the bill’s supporters, noted on the Senate floor Thursday that support to do away with the yearly time movements reaches far beyond the state Capitol.

“I would like us to take a moment to recognize that our governor, Kate Brown, and our president, Donald TrumpDonald John TrumpObama slams Trump in Miami: 'Florida Man wouldn't even do this stuff' Trump makes his case in North Carolina, Ohio and Wisconsin Pence's chief of staff tests positive for COVID-19 MORE, agree on something,” she said in reference to the governor and president not agreeing on most policy positions, according to The Oregonian.

The bill states that the measure would end the yearly one-hour change in time from standard time to daylight saving time and “maintains Oregon on daylight saving time except in the portion of Oregon in Mountain Time Zone.” 

However, the bill would only take effect if California and Washington also decide to do away with the yearly time change.

California and Washington are among several states that are considering legislation that would bring an end to the biannual time change. 

Last November, California voters passed a proposition to opt into permanent daylight saving time pending the approval of state and federal lawmakers, and Washington's state Senate passed a measure that would allow the state to permanently observe daylight saving time year-round last month.