Cuomo expands New York quarantine order to 8 additional states

New York Gov. Andrew CuomoAndrew CuomoNew York City reports zero COVID-19 deaths for first time since pandemic hit Florida health officials agreed to receive remdesivir from New York before DeSantis dismissed offer Cuomo says Northeast will likely see rise in COVID-19 cases due to surge in other parts of country MORE (D) expanded the state’s mandatory quarantine to include travelers from eight additional states experiencing spikes in coronavirus cases. 

The mandatory 14-day quarantine now includes travelers from California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Tennessee. 


Last week New York, New Jersey and Connecticut announced a joint travel advisory requiring travelers from states with an infection rate of more than 10 cases per 100,000 people on a seven-day rolling average to quarantine when entering their states. 

The order at the time applied to travelers from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah and Texas. 

New York, once the epicenter of the coronavirus pandemic, has made progress mitigating its spread. But other states, mainly in the South and West, have seen significant surges in COVID-19 cases, causing officials in some cases to pause reopening plans or reimpose restrictions that had been lifted. 

Cuomo has said that people found breaking the order could be subject to fines, but he indicated that police would not be patrolling the borders of the state.

--This report was updated on July 1 at 9:15 a.m.