State Watch

Ohio governor to mandate masks be worn in certain counties

Getty Images

Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine (R) said Tuesday he is issuing a mandatory mask order in counties experiencing high levels of coronavirus spread. 

The mandatory mask order will apply to seven counties designated “Red Alert Level 3,” including Butler, Cuyahoga, Franklin, Hamilton, Huron, Montgomery and Trumbull counties, DeWine tweeted Tuesday. 

The order will remain in effect as long as the counties remain in “Red Alert Level 3” or if they increase to “Purple Alert Level 4”. The order will drop if counties fall into a “Level 2” alert. 

Ohio’s third risk level is defined as having a “very high exposure and spread.” The fourth level is defined as having “severe exposure and spread.” 

The mandatory mask order requires that residents wear masks when indoors anywhere that is not a residence. It also requires that people wear masks when they are outdoors and unable to keep a distance of at least six feet between themselves and others. 

The order excludes children under the age of 10 and other minors who can’t safely wear a face covering. 

Several governors have issued statewide mandatory mask orders to mitigate the spread of the coronavirus. 

Tags Coronavirus COVID-19 Face mask Ohio Social distancing

The Hill has removed its comment section, as there are many other forums for readers to participate in the conversation. We invite you to join the discussion on Facebook and Twitter.

See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video