State Watch

Visitors from 31 states now required to quarantine when visiting New York, New Jersey, Connecticut

Getty Images

New York, New Jersey and Connecticut are now requiring visitors from 31 states to quarantine for 14 days in an effort to combat the growing number of coronavirus cases in the country.

The metro area announced Tuesday that 10 additional states would be added to the travel advisory that mandates the quarantine: Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Virginia and Washington. Minnesota was removed from last week’s list.

The travel advisory list includes states that have more than 10 per 100,000 residents testing positive for the virus or more than 10 percent of tests coming back positive, on a seven-day rolling average. Last week, 22 states made the list.

New York, New Jersey and Connecticut announced the travel advisory late last month, initially adding Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah and Texas. Certain states, like Delaware and Washington, were removed and then re-added to the list as their numbers evolved over the weeks. 

The new travel restrictions come as New York attempts to protect itself from further serious outbreaks across the country after the tri-state area was the U.S.’s initial epicenter for COVID-19 earlier this year.  

New York experienced its peak of new COVID-19 cases in early April, with 12,274 new cases on April 4, but now has a seven-day average of 725 new cases per day, according to New York Times data. Since the beginning of the pandemic, New York has confirmed 408,181 cases and 25,058 deaths.

But other states have been struggling to reign in their outbreaks in recent weeks, especially in Florida, Louisiana and Texas. The New York Times reports that 42 states are experiencing rising cases.

Travelers from these states are required to fill out an online form or face fines up to $2,000 in New York. New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo (D) acknowledged during his Monday press briefing that the enforcement of the advisory was operating in airports but not those traveling by road. 

“We do not have a mechanism to get to people who may be driving into the state or passing through the state,” he said.

Tags Andrew Cuomo Connecticut Coronavirus coronavirus travel bans coronavirus travel restrictions COVID-19 New Jersey New York Pandemic Travel advisory

Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video