The 5 Republicans who voted to condemn Trump's transgender military ban

A handful of GOP lawmakers on Thursday crossed the aisle to vote with Democrats in rejecting the Trump administration's transgender military ban.

The House passed a nonbinding resolution formally condemning the ban in a 238-185 vote.


The administration recently said members of the military will be required to serve as the gender they were assigned at birth starting next month, a move that essentially rolls back the Obama administration’s policy from June 2016.

Here are the five Republicans who bucked party leadership and voted for the resolution:

Rep. Brian FitzpatrickBrian K. Fitzpatrick2020 Global Tiger Day comes with good news, but Congress still has work to do How Congress is preventing a Medicare bankruptcy during COVID-19 Overnight Energy: House passes major conservation bill, sending to Trump | EPA finalizes rule to speed up review of industry permits MORE (Pa.)

Rep. Trey HollingsworthJoseph (Trey) Albert HollingsworthThe Hill's Coronavirus Report: Nano Vision CEO Steve Papermaster says we may need a new TSA-like institution for dealing with future pandemics; Fauci says Trump didn't seek a slowdown on testing The Hill's Coronavirus Report: Rep. Hurd says China engaged in global disinformation campaign; US unemployment highest since Great Depression The Hill's Coronavirus Report: Chef José Andrés says most political leaders today are not acting with urgency; Dems crafting 'Rooseveltian' relief package MORE (Ind.)

Rep. Will HurdWilliam Ballard HurdDemocrats go big on diversity with new House recruits Texas Democrats plan 7-figure ad buy to turn state blue Republicans face worsening outlook in battle for House MORE (Texas)

Rep. John KatkoJohn Michael KatkoCongress must deliver aid and empower localities to continue assisting in COVID-19 response Lawmakers zero in on Twitter following massive hack Democrat Dana Balter to face Rep. John Katko in NY House rematch MORE (N.Y.)

Rep. Tom ReedThomas (Tom) W. ReedHouse approves two child care bills aimed at pandemic Diabetes Caucus co-chairs say telehealth expansion to continue beyond pandemic The Hill's 12:30 Report - Presented by Facebook - Mnuchin previews GOP coronavirus relief package MORE (N.Y.)

The resolution — introduced by Rep. Joe KennedyJoseph (Joe) Patrick KennedyBudowsky: Why I back Kennedy, praise Markey The Hill's Campaign Report: Even the Post Office is political now | Primary action tonight | Super PACS at war Markey offers apology to family of unarmed Black teen amid criticism MORE III (D-Mass.) and co-sponsored by Katko — says the House strongly opposes the "discriminatory ban on transgender members of the Armed Forces; rejects the flawed scientific and medical claims upon which it is based; and strongly urges the Department of Defense to not reinstate President TrumpDonald John TrumpBiden says his faith is 'bedrock foundation of my life' after Trump claim Coronavirus talks on life support as parties dig in, pass blame Ohio governor tests negative in second coronavirus test MORE’s ban on trans­gen­der members of the Armed Forces and to maintain an inclusive policy allowing qualified transgender Americans to enlist and serve in the Armed Forces." 

Katko said he believes those who are willing and able to serve their country should be allowed to do so.

"I just think if someone is able-bodied and able to serve in the military, that's good enough for me. And I think that enough in the military community have said, 'You know, able-bodied transgender people can serve,' " he told The Hill following Thursday's vote.

Hollingsworth, who has previously voted against having the military pay for transition procedures, explained his vote in a statement to The Hill.

“The honor of serving our country and protecting American freedoms should be open to anyone who can pass the physical, psychological, and medical exams,” he said.

Supporters of Trump's decision argue it is not a ban on serving since the administration's new policy will allow transgender people to serve in their biological sex.

The measure passed 238-185, with one Republican, Rep. Justin AmashJustin AmashPeter Meijer wins GOP primary in Amash's Michigan district Amash confirms he won't seek reelection Democrats fear US already lost COVID-19 battle MORE (Mich.), voting present.