President Obama renominated present acting chairwoman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, Cheryl LaFleur, to serve on the commission again Thursday evening.

LaFleur, who joined FERC as a commissioner in 2010, was named acting chairwoman in 2013, after Jon Wellinghoff stepped down.

{mosads}LaFleur is expected to remain chairwoman until Obama’s latest nominee to be chair of FERC, Norman Bay, is confirmed.

Obama’s nominees have been plagued with controversy.

Ron Binz, Obama’s first choice to lead FERC after Wllinghoff, pulled his name out of the running after facing strong opposition from Congress.

Bay’s chances aren’t looking good. A number of senators don’t approve of Obama’s choice, and a hearing has yet to be scheduled to consider his nomination.

Tags Cheryl LaFleur Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Norman Bay

The Hill has removed its comment section, as there are many other forums for readers to participate in the conversation. We invite you to join the discussion on Facebook and Twitter.

See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video