Trump names Obama nominee as temporary top energy regulator

Trump names Obama nominee as temporary top energy regulator
© Getty Images

President Trump has named Cheryl LaFleur, a Democratic nominee, to be the acting chairwoman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), the board announced Thursday. 

“It is an honor to again be asked to serve as Acting Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, and I thank President Trump for the opportunity,” LaFleur said in a statement. 

“While I recognize that FERC is in a state of transition as we await nominations to fill vacant seats at the agency, it is important that FERC’s work on the nation’s energy markets and infrastructure move forward.”


LaFleur was appointed to the FERC by President Obama and confirmed to a second four-year term on a 90-7 vote in 2014. 

LaFleur is popular with both parties. Republicans concerned with Obama’s choice to chair the commission, Norman Bay, insisted that LaFleuer remain acting chairwoman of FERC for several months before allowing Bay to take over.  

Before joining the FERC in 2010, LaFleur worked in the electric and natural gas industry, including a stint as executive vice president of industry group National Grid USA. 

The FERC oversees the nation’s electric grid and has authority over projects within the energy sector.