Energy & Environment

Klobuchar becomes 13th Democratic candidate to pledge not to accept fossil fuel money

Stefani Reynolds

Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.) is joining the ranks of a dozen other 2020 presidential hopefuls in committing to limit fossil fuel donations to her campaign.

Klobuchar announced on Twitter Monday that she would not take contributions over $200 from the fossil fuel industry, including executives, lobbyists or PACs, and would “instead prioritize the health of our families, climate, and democracy over fossil fuel industry profits.”

{mosads}The senator joins former Texas Rep. Beto O’Rourke (D), Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.) and others in signing the pledge, which was organized by youth climate group the Sunrise Movement.

“This is essential to show young voters you stand with our generation, not fossil fuel CEOs,” Sunrise tweeted Monday in response to Klobuchar’s signing.

Candidates who have refrained from signing the pledge include California Sen. Kamala Harris (D) and former Vice President Joe Biden (D).

Klobuchar also backs the progressive Green New Deal climate plan and signed on as a co-sponsor to the resolution in the Senate. She has not released any personal climate change action plan, unlike her rivals O’Rourke and Washington Gov. Jay Inslee (D).

Tags Amy Klobuchar Bernie Sanders Jay Inslee Joe Biden

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video