New group of 'cardinals' set to take over in House

The House Appropriations Committee on Thursday announced the 12 subcommittee "cardinals" who will wield influence over federal spending in the next Congress.

Of the 12 subcommittees, five will have new chairmen, while the other seven will stay under the same leadership.

The new chairmen include Rep. John Culberson (R-Texas), will lead Commerce, Justice and Science; Rep. Tom Cole (R-Okla.), who is taking Labor, Health and Human Services and Education; Rep. Charlie Dent (R-Pa.), who is in charge of Military Construction and Veterans Affairs; Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-Fla.), the top member on Transportation, Housing and Urban Development; and Rep. Tom GravesJohn (Tom) Thomas GravesGOP scores procedural win by securing more funding to enforce Iran sanctions Bipartisan bill would enable companies to defend themselves against cyberattacks Republicans spend more than million at Trump properties MORE (R-Ga.) on the Legislative Branch subcommittee.

The "cardinal" positions on appropriations have long been prized in the House, as it gives each leader the authority over one of the 12 annual appropriations bills that decide where money is spent in the government.


“Over the next two years, we will have some big challenges and a full plate of ‘to-dos’ ahead of us as we continue to fight for stability, continuity, and responsibility in the federal budget process,” said Appropriations Chairman Hal Rogers (R-Ky.).

“These excellent Subcommittee Cardinals will be a tremendous benefit to our efforts. I congratulate them and look forward to working with them in the 114th Congress.”

The other subcommittees will be led by the incumbent chairmen, including Reps. Robert AderholtRobert Brown AderholtHouse advances B agriculture bill Dems advance bill defying Trump State Department cuts Maryland raises legal tobacco purchasing age to 21 MORE (R-Ala.), Rodney FrelinghuysenRodney Procter FrelinghuysenThe 31 Trump districts that will determine the next House majority Top House GOP appropriations staffer moves to lobbying shop Individuals with significant disabilities need hope and action MORE (R-N.J.), Mike Simpson (R-Idaho), Ander Crenshaw (R-Fla.), John Carter (R-Texas), Ken Calvert (R-Calif.) and Kay GrangerNorvell (Kay) Kay GrangerLobbying world House approves bill increasing federal worker pay House approves 3 billion spending package MORE (R-Texas).

Four new Republican lawmakers will be joining the full Appropriations panel as members: Reps. David Jolly (R-Fla.), Scott RigellEdward (Scott) Scott RigellGOP rushes to embrace Trump GOP lawmaker appears in Gary Johnson ad Some in GOP say Trump has gone too far MORE (R-Va.), Evan Jenkins (W.Va.) and David Young (R-Iowa.)

Rogers was reelected to his third term as the panel’s chief on Wednesday. 

This story was updated at 8:04 p.m.