12 House GOP chairmen break with leadership on clean DHS bill

12 House GOP chairmen break with leadership on clean DHS bill
© Greg Nash

More than half of the 21 House GOP committee chairmen on Tuesday broke with leadership and voted against the clean bill funding the Department of Homeland Security through Sept. 30.


Committee chairmen typically follow the lead of GOP leaders on major votes. 

The 12 "no" votes included Agriculture Chairman Mike Conaway (Texas), Budget Chairman Tom Price (Ga.), Natural Resource Chairman Rob BishopRobert (Rob) William BishopOvernight Energy: McConnell tees up vote on Green New Deal | Centrist Dems pitch alternative to plan | House Republican likens Green New Deal to genocide | Coca-Cola reveals it uses 3M tons of plastic every year House GOP lawmaker says Green New Deal is like genocide Overnight Energy: Solar installations dropped in 2018 | UN report says rising Arctic temperatures 'locked in' | Fiat Chrysler to recall 850K vehicles MORE (Utah), Small Business Chairman Steve Chabot (Ohio), Financial Services Chairman Jeb Hensarling (Texas), Armed Services Chairman Mac Thornberry (Texas), Oversight and Government Reform Chairman Jason ChaffetzJason ChaffetzLawmakers contemplate a tough political sell: Raising their pay Top Utah paper knocks Chaffetz as he mulls run for governor: ‘His political career should be over’ Boehner working on memoir: report MORE (Utah), Judiciary Chairman Bob GoodlatteRobert (Bob) William GoodlatteTop Republican releases full transcript of Bruce Ohr interview It’s time for Congress to pass an anti-cruelty statute DOJ opinion will help protect kids from dangers of online gambling MORE (Va.) Science, Space and Technology Chairman Lamar Smith (Texas), Transportation and Infrastructure Chairman Bill Shuster (Pa.), Rules Chairman Pete Sessions (Texas) Veterans’ Affairs Chairman Jeff Miller (Fla.).

The 9 "yes" votes came from Appropriations Chairman Hal Rogers (Ky.), Education and the Workforce Chairman John Kline (Minn.), Energy and Commerce Chairman Fred Upton (Mich.), Ethics Chairman Charlie Dent (Pa.), Foreign Affairs Chairman Ed Royce (Calif.), Homeland Security Chairman Michael McCaul (Texas), Intelligence Chairman Devin Nunes (Calif.), Ways and Means Chairman Paul RyanPaul Davis RyanPaul Ryan joins board of Fox Corporation Bottom Line Paul Ryan says Trump will win reelection because of 'record of accomplishment' MORE (Wis.) and Administration Chairwoman Candice Miller (Mich.).