Trump taps economists, investors for transition team

Getty Images

President-elect Donald Trump designated a dozen transition officials, campaign supporters, scholars and former administration officials to bridge the gap at key federal finance and business agencies. 

Trump’s transition team announced 12 men and women from various sectors and industries — including several early campaign supporters — to serve on “landing teams.” The teams will help Trump staff his new administration, though members of the teams won’t necessarily be nominated or hired.

Trump’s Treasury Department landing team includes William Walton, a private equity chief who helps lead the transition economic advisory wing.

Other members are Curtis Dubay, a tax expert at the Heritage Foundation; Judy Shelton, senior fellow at the libertarian Atlas Network and campaign economic adviser; and Mauricio Claver-Carone, a former Treasury Department adviser and a pro-Cuban embargo advocate.

Tom Leppert, a former Republican mayor of Dallas, is the sole person on the Social Security Administration landing team. Leppert endorsed Trump in late February. 

Trump’s Commerce Department landing team consists of Ray Washburne, a Dallas-based investor who vice-chaired Trump’s fundraising committee; David Bohigian, a venture capitalist and former Commerce assistant secretary under President George W. Bush; and Joan Maginnis, a former Commerce assistant counsel under Bush. 

Leading the United States Trade Representative team are Dan DiMicco, Trump’s campaign trade adviser and CEO of steel company Nucor, and Robert Lighthizer, a free-trade critical lawyer and deputy trade representative under President Ronald Reagan.

Jeffrey Eisenach, director of the fiscally conservative American Enterprise Institute’s Center for Internet, Communications, and Technology Policy, and Mark Jamison, director of the University of Florida’s Public Utilities Research Center, will lead the Federal Communications Commission team.
Mary Anne Bradfield, a consultant, former lobbyist and former Small Business Administration (SBA) assistant and counselor under Bush, will lead Trump’s SBA team.
Tags Donald Trump

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video