Senate confirms key financial nominees before summer recess


The Senate confirmed on Wednesday 10 Trump administration financial regulatory appointments, including the chairman of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) and key Treasury Department aides.

Among dozens of other Trump administration nominees confirmed before the chamber breaks for recess, the Senate approved Republican J. Christopher Giancarlo to be the CFTC’s chairman — he has served as the commission’s acting chief since President Trump took office. The Senate also confirmed Republican Brian Quintenz and Democrat Rostin “Russ” Behnam as commissioners of the federal regulator overseeing futures, swaps and derivatives trades.

The Senate cleared David Malpass to be Treasury undersecretary of international affairs, David Kautter to be assistant secretary for tax policy and Chris Campbell for assistant secretary of financial institutions.

{mosads}Kautter has been the partner in charge of the Washington national tax practice of RSM, a tax and consulting services firm. He also worked at Ernst and Young for more than 30 years and was a Capitol Hill staffer. The Senate Finance Committee unanimously approved his nomination two weeks ago.

Campbell has been the Republican staff director on the Senate Finance Committee. He previously served as legislative director to Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), the current Finance Committee chairman.

The Senate also confirmed Neal Rackliff and Anna Farias as Department of Housing and Urban Development assistant secretaries.

Tags Orrin Hatch
See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video