Ryan, Pelosi name members to new budget and pension committees

Getty Images

House leaders on Friday announced their members of new joint House–Senate committees on budget and appropriations process reform and the solvency of multi-employer pension plans.

The new panels were established as part of the bipartisan budget deal that Congress passed earlier this month. They are tasked with holding hearings and voting on recommendations by Nov. 30.

House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-Wis.), House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.), Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) and Senate Minority Leader Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.) each get to name four members to each of the joint committees.


For the budget process committee, Ryan named House Budget Committee Chairman Steve Womack (R-Ark.), Rules Committee Chairman Pete Sessions (R-Texas) and Budget Committee members Rob Woodall (R-Ga.) and Jody Arrington (R-Texas).

Pelosi named to the committee House Appropriations Committee ranking member Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.), Budget Committee ranking member John Yarmuth (D-Ky.) and Appropriations Committee members Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-Calif.) and Derek Kilmer (D-Wash.).

For the pension committee, Ryan named House Education and the Workforce Committee Chairman Virginia Foxx (R-N.C.), Education and the Workforce Committee member Phil Roe (R-Tenn.) and House Ways and Means Committee members Vern Buchanan (R-Fla.) and David Schweikert (R-Ariz.).

Pelosi named Ways and Means Committee ranking member Richard Neal (D-Mass.), Education and the Workforce Committee ranking member Bobby Scott (D-Va.) and Education and the Workforce Committee members Donald Norcross (D-N.J.) and Debbie Dingell (D-Mich.).

Tags Bobby Scott Charles Schumer David Schweikert Debbie Dingell Derek Kilmer Donald Norcross John Yarmuth Lucille Roybal-Allard Mitch McConnell Nancy Pelosi Nita Lowey Paul Ryan Pete Sessions Phil Roe Richard Neal Rob Woodall Steve Womack Vern Buchanan Virginia Foxx

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video