Seven more European countries report coronavirus cases

Getty Images

Seven more countries in Europe have reported cases of coronavirus Wednesday as the virus continues rapidly spreading in Italy. 

Austria, Croatia, France, Germany, Greece, Spain and Switzerland have reported cases of the virus, The New York Times reports.  

The virus which originated in China has spread globally, with the majority of cases in Europe centered in Italy. 

Italy’s Civil Protection Department reported Wednesday that 374 people were infected with the virus across nine regions. More than 250 cases are in Italy’s northern region of Lombardy. 

The newly confirmed cases in European countries have all been linked to the outbreak in Italy, BBC reports

Italy’s European Union neighbors, however, have decided that closing borders in response would be “disproportionate,” and they will remain open, according to BBC. 

As the virus spreads in Europe, three hotels in Austria, France and Spain’s Canary Islands have been locked down after guests tested positive for the virus or were suspected of having it, the Times reports. 

The vast majority of cases have still been reported in China, where the virus originated, but Tuesday marked the first time that more new cases have been reported outside China than inside, the Times notes, citing the World Health Organization. There are 411 new cases in China, and the new cases in outside countries grew to 427. 

Globally, 80,980 people have reportedly been infected and nearly 3,000 have died.

Tags austria Coronavirus Italy Spain
See all Hill.TV See all Video