EU lawmakers vote to end daylight saving time

European Union lawmakers voted Tuesday to scrap daylight saving time starting in 2021, Reuters reported.

The European Parliament voted 410-192 to end the annual practice of moving clocks forward by an hour in spring and back by the same amount in autumn.

The vote will form the basis of discussion for EU member countries to craft a final law on the issue.


The EU has required all member countries to observe daylight saving time since 2001.

A report by the parliament in favor of a single time throughout the year cited scientific studies that link time changes to diseases because they interrupt biological cycles, according to Reuters.

In the United States, President TrumpDonald John TrumpFederal plan to contain Washington protests employs 7,600 personnel: report GOP Rep calls on primary opponent to condemn campaign surrogate's racist video Tennessee court rules all registered voters can obtain mail-in ballots due to COVID-19 MORE recently said he approved of making daylight saving time permanent.

Hawaii and most of Arizona do not observe daylight saving time.

The majority of countries outside Europe and North America do not adjust their clocks twice a year.