Iran to ban US citizens after Trump order

Iran to ban US citizens after Trump order
© Getty

Iran will ban Americans from entering the country after President TrumpDonald TrumpFacebook temporarily bans ads for weapons accessories following Capitol riots Sasse, in fiery op-ed, says QAnon is destroying GOP Section 230 worked after the insurrection, but not before: How to regulate social media MORE signed an executive order barring people from several Muslim-majority countries including Iran from traveling to the U.S., Reuters reported Saturday.

"While respecting the American people and distinguishing between them and the hostile policies of the U.S. government, Iran will implement the principle of reciprocity until the offensive U.S. limitations against Iranian nationals are lifted," Iran's Foreign Ministry said in a statement.

"The restrictions against travel by Muslims to America... are an open affront against the Muslim world and the Iranian nation in particular and will be known as a great gift to extremists," it added.


Trump issued an executive action on Friday that halts the United States’ refugee resettlement program for 120 days and bars people from Iran and six other Muslim-majority countries from entering the U.S.

Trump's order affects individuals from Iran, Iraq, Syria, Yemen, Libya, Somalia and Sudan.

Iran’s announcement that it would ban U.S. citizens from traveling there is the latest fallout from Trump’s order. The action stirred controversy almost immediately after it was signed, as refugees were detained upon their arrival at U.S. airports.

Trump took a hardline stance on Iran during his 2016 presidential bid, blasting a 2015 agreement negotiated under the Obama administration that was aimed at reining in the country’s nuclear program.