Facebook glitch telling users they’ve died
An apparent glitch on Facebook is declaring many users dead on their profile pages.
Social media users have been sharing screenshots of their “memorialized” Facebook pages.
Normally, when users die, their Facebook page becomes memorialized, and friends and family can share memories on their page. But the designation is now showing up for users who are alive.
Even the page of Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg has been affected. A text box on his page at one point read, “Remember Mark Zuckerberg. We hope people who love Mark will find comfort in the things others share to remember and celebrate his life,” with a link for more information on memorialized accounts.
The glitch is not showing up for all users.
The bug appears to have been fixed as of late Friday afternoon.
“For a brief period today, a message meant for memorialized pages was mistakenly posted to other accounts,” said a Facebook spokesperson. “This was a terrible error that we have now fixed. We are very sorry that this happened and we worked as quickly as possible to fix it.”
This story was updated at 5:05 p.m. on Nov. 11.
The Hill has removed its comment section, as there are many other forums for readers to participate in the conversation. We invite you to join the discussion on Facebook and Twitter.