Senate confirms two new FCC commissioners

Senate confirms two new FCC commissioners
© Greg Nash

The Senate voted on Thursday to confirm two new commissioners to the remaining open seats at the Federal Communications Commission. 

The FCC will now return to its full quorum after the confirmations of Republican Brendan Carr and Democrat Jessica Rosenworcel passed in the Senate. Three Republicans and two Democrats now sit on the FCC.

Rosenworcel is returning to her post as commissioner after serving in the same capacity from 2012 to 2017. She was appointed to the FCC by former President Barack ObamaBarack Hussein ObamaChina, Russia, Iran rise in Latin America as US retreats Castro wants to follow Obama's lead on balancing presidency with fatherhood Trump's regulatory rollback boosts odds of a financial crisis MORE. She will serve a five-year term.

Carr’s confirmation was disputed by Senate Democrats in proceedings earlier this week. They argued that Carr should only be approved for a single 1 1/2 year term, while Republicans argued he should serve a 5-year term. 

He was ultimately confirmed Thursday to a single 1 1/2 year term. 

Senate Commerce Committee ranking member Bill Nelson (D-Fla.) noted during a dispute Wednesday that Senate leaders of both parties were negotiating a deal for a final vote on the confirmations. According to Nelson, the agreement would only include approval of Carr’s first 18-month term.

Current Republican FCC Chairman Ajit Pai still needs to be reconfirmed, but the Senate is soon expected to vote in favor of his reconfirmation.