Senate panel approves Trump's FTC nominees

Senate panel approves Trump's FTC nominees
© Greg Nash

The Senate Commerce Committee approved President TrumpDonald John TrumpFive takeaways from the Democratic debate As Buttigieg rises, Biden is still the target Leading Democrats largely pull punches at debate MORE’s four nominees to the Federal Trade Commission (FTC).

The panel unanimously voted to confirm Joseph Simons, Trump’s pick to chair the agency, Rohit Chopra, Noah Phillips and Christine Wilson.

The FTC has had just two commissioners since the Trump administration came into office more than a year ago.

Simons, Phillips and Wilson are Republicans and Chopra is a Democrat. Trump still needs to nominate one more Democrat to get the consumer protection agency back to full strength.

The four nominees now need to be confirmed by the full Senate.