Transparency Caucus kicks off

Twenty-six lawmakers kicked off a new caucus today dedicated to making government more transparent and accountable.

The Congressional Transparency Caucus held its inaugural event today on Capitol Hill. It's chaired by Reps. Mike Quigley (D-Ill.) and Darrell Issa (R-Calif.), who said at the event today that the time is ripe for reform to make government more accountable.

With popularity and trust in government at an all-time low, Quigley said it's lawmakers' jobs to show citizens that they're doing their best in office.

"These are complex decisions we all make at all levels and it's very difficult to lead if we don't have the public's trust," he said.

To support the caucus's mission, the Sunlight Foundation has created an Advisory Committee on Transparency. The committee will provide information and advice to members of Congress on open government issues. A new website, TransparencyCaucus.org, is designed to publish reports and white papers on topics relevant to transparency and accountability in the public sector.

Here is a list of the Caucus membership as of this morning: Melissa Bean, Bruce Braley, Jason Chaffetz, Lloyd Doggett, Vernon Ehlers, Bill Foster, Eleanor Holmes-Norton, Steve Israel, Darrel Issa, Walter Jones, Jim Jordan, Mark Kirk, Doug Lamborn, Blaine Leutkemeyer, Daniel Lipinski, Dave Loebsack, Patrick McHenry, Walt Minnick, Patrick Murphy, Jared Polis, Mike Quigley, Tim Ryan, Aaron Schock, Mark Souder, Jackie Speier, Greg Walder.

Watch the video for Quigley's opening remarks.