Watch live: Doug Jones, Tina Smith sworn into US Senate

Sen.-elect Doug Jones (D-Ala.) and Minnesota Lt. Gov. Tina Smith (D) will be sworn into the U.S. Senate on Wednesday afternoon.


Jones is the first Democrat in decades to win a Senate race in Alabama. He defeated Republican Roy Moore, who faced allegations of sexual misconduct.

He was escorted by former Vice President Joe Biden, who campaigned and recorded a robocall for Jones.

Smith is taking the seat left open by the resignation of former Sen. Al Franken (D-Minn.).

Many assumed that Smith would only hold the seat temporarily until the 2018 special election, where voters would choose her successor. But when Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton (D) appointed her in December, she signaled her intention to run in that special election and is poised to run with virtually unanimous support within her party.

Vice President Pence will administer the oath that allows the two to begin their senatorial duties.

The ceremony is expected to begin at 12:05 p.m.

Watch live in the video above.